Independent guidenile.guide is an independent guide to Nile cruises, tours and things to do in Egypt. We are not the website of any cruise ship, hotel group, tour operator, museum or Egyptian authority. Some links are affiliate links: if you book through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
EN

PlanCruise prices · per person

Nile cruise prices: what a cruise really costs per person

A plain 3-night Nile cruise costs from $450 per person on the booking platforms, about $150 a night. Ships that publish their own rates charge $230–330 a night, luxury boats several times that. Then come the costs the fare leaves out: entry fees, tips, drinks and the optional extras.

Stretch of the Nile

Luxor – Aswan

Cheapest 3 nights (platform)
from $450 per person, about $150 a night
4 nights Luxor → Aswan
from $840 per person with Abu Simbel
Upper 5-star, published rate
$230–330 per person per night, entry fees included
Luxury (A&K Sun Boat IV)
$3,235 per person for 4 nights in season
Entry fees if not included
EGP 4,060 per adult for the eight core sites
Tips
US$5–10 per person per night (crew) + US$10–15 per day (guide)
UK cruise & stay with flights
TUI from £1,499 per person, 7 nights

Updated 19 October 2026Facts checked against official sourcesContains affiliate links

Prices & deals: what you can book

15 options · Prices checked on 19 October 2026

Nights

Starts in

Platform

See everything on GetYourGuide →See everything on Headout →See everything on Tiqets →

Nile cruise prices depend on three things: how many nights, what class of boat, and what the price actually covers. The cheapest real cruise, three nights from Aswan to Luxor on a ship sold as five-star, starts at $450 per person on GetYourGuide. A ship that prints its own rates, with guiding and entry fees included, costs roughly twice that. A luxury boat with a small number of cabins costs four to eight times as much. The headline number is only half the story, because two cruises at the same price can differ by EGP 4,060 per person in entry fees alone.

Every price on this page is per person, two sharing a cabin, unless it says otherwise. Platform prices are the live "from" prices, which move with dates. Operator and agency rates are quoted in the currency they publish.

Nile cruise prices per person by class of boat

The quickest way to read the market is price per person per night. Most cruises are three nights downstream (Aswan → Luxor) or four nights upstream (Luxor → Aswan) on the same ship, so dividing by nights makes a 3-night deal and a 4-night deal comparable. The nights guide explains why the two directions are halves of the same weekly loop.

What a night on the Nile costs, by type of boat
  • Budget 5-star shipAgency packages with guide and usually entry fees, summer to winter: Semiramis III 4 nights $455–645, Nile Shams 3 nights $406–616, Royal Viking 3 nights $436–646; GetYourGuide's plain 3-night Aswan→Luxor from $450USD 114–215
  • Upper 5-star shipMayfair Cruises' published per-night rates incl. sightseeing and entry fees ($230–330, Christmas $400); agency fares for Nile Dolphin, Concerto II, Salacia, Acamar and Medea, 3–4 nightsUSD 198–525
  • Luxury shipA&K's published 4-night rates: Sun Boat IV Nile Deck $1,654 (June–August) to $3,235 (Oct–Nov), Nile Seray from $6,077; Historia and Nebu agency fares sit at the lower endUSD 388–1,519
  • Dahabiya (priced in US dollars)GetYourGuide's 3-night dahabiya from $1,100; agency fares for Nuun & Nuut, Sonesta Amirat (7 nights $3,350) and Nebyt (3 nights from $2,674)USD 367–891
  • Dahabiya (priced in euros)Djed Egypt €330 per person per night in a cabin, €415 in a suite; Nour El Nil prices per room for 5 nights (€6,600–11,300), divided by two guestsEUR 330–1,130
  • UK cruise package with flightsTUI River Cruises, 7-night all-inclusive round trip from Luxor with flights and transfers, from £1,499–1,785 per personGBP 214–255
  • International river lineWhole package incl. Cairo hotels and internal flights, divided by 11 nights: Viking 12 days from $6,999; Uniworld 12 days $6,099–20,849USD 554–1,895

Typical per-person prices per night in a double cabin, full board, checked on 19 October 2026; Christmas, New Year and Easter cost more.

A few things this ladder shows that a brochure won't:

  • Budget and upper 5-star overlap. "Five-star" is a label nearly every ship sold to foreigners uses, and no public ministry list of rated Nile ships exists. Semiramis III calls itself "5-star deluxe" and sells through an agency for $455 for 4 summer nights; Royal Esadora, sold under the same label, costs $895 for 4 winter nights. The difference is the age of the ship, cabin size and what is included.
  • Luxury is a different product, not a bigger cabin. Standard ships carry 50–80 cabins. Many luxury boats have far fewer (Sun Boat III 16, Oberoi Philae 22, Oberoi Zahra 28, Nile Seray 32), A&K and Oberoi avoid the crowded public quays, and both build entry fees into the price. See luxury Nile cruises.
  • Dahabiyas are priced differently. Djed Egypt charges €330 per person per night in a cabin and €415 in a suite. Nour El Nil prices per room for a 5-night cruise: €6,600 for its Agatha Luxury Room, which is about €660 per person per night for two. The dahabiya guide compares the boats.
  • International lines sell whole holidays. Viking's 12-day Pharaohs & Pyramids starts at $6,999 and Uniworld's 12-day programme runs $6,099–20,849, including Cairo hotels and internal flights. Divide by nights and you get the top rows of the ladder.

Nile cruise cost on the booking platforms: price per night

GetYourGuide lists 64 multi-day Nile cruises and packages, from $450 to $4,550. None of them names the ship: the listing says "5-star ship or similar" and the local operator assigns one. That keeps prices low, and it means you cannot compare ships, only listings. Here are the listings that matter for price, divided by nights:

Listing Nights From Per night Rating
Aswan → Luxor with guide 3 $450 $150 4.3 (654)
Headout, Egyptologist and entrance fees 3 $325 about $108 no reviews yet
Aswan → Luxor with balloon 3 $550 about $183 4.5 (168)
Aswan → Luxor, Abu Simbel and balloon 3 $580 about $193 4.5 (555)
Luxor → Aswan with Abu Simbel 4 $840 $210 4.4 (69)
8-Day from Aswan 7 $1,258 about $180 4.5 (2)
3-Day from Aswan 2 $590 $295 4.5 (76)
Aswan overnight to Luxor 1 $550 $550 4.2 (178)

Two lessons. First, the longer the cruise, the lower the price per night, until you reach 7 nights, where listings have so few reviews that you are buying blind. Second, the short slices are poor value. The one-night "overnight" costs $550 for a single night aboard, more than the plain 3-night cruise costs in total. The 2-night versions put you on a ship partway through its 3-night run, at almost double the nightly rate.

The Headout listing at $325 is the only cruise on any platform whose title promises entrance fees. On paper it is the cheapest cruise in Egypt. It has no reviews yet, and it excludes a tipping kitty of about US$45, so treat it as a promising newcomer rather than a safe bet.

Best-value cruise listings today

1

First-timers on a budget

The cheapest 3-night cruise with hundreds of reviews and a guide included; check the "includes" list for entry fees before you pay.

2

Want Abu Simbel and the balloon done for you

The most-reviewed listing with both extras bundled, at $130 more than the plain cruise.

3

Four nights, more time in Aswan

The upstream version, with Kom Ombo at dusk and an extra afternoon in Aswan.

All of these sail the same stretch of river, with the same temples on the way:

  1. 0 kmLuxorStart or end of every standard cruise. Ships moor along the East Bank and at private docks south of town; Karnak, Luxor Temple and the West Bank are visited from here.
  2. 50 kmEsnaAbout 50 km upriver. Ships pass the Esna lock (two ships per lockage), often at night; many ships stop here overnight without visiting the temple.
  3. EdfuBetween Esna and Kom Ombo. The Temple of Horus is visited by horse carriage or coach from the quay, usually in the morning.
  4. Kom OmboRiverside temple, open for entry until 20:00: upstream ships stop at dusk, downstream ships come early in the morning.
  5. 200 kmAswanAbout 200 km by river from Luxor. Philae, the High Dam and a felucca or motorboat round Kitchener's Island; last night of a dahabiya trip at the Aswan bridge dock.

Distances along the river, rounded; ships also stop at the Esna lock and sometimes moor at Kom Ombo for the night.

Circles: towns; diamonds: temples; squares: locks and dams. Green: the cultivated valley. · Map data: Natural Earth (public domain)

What "all inclusive" means on a Nile cruise

On the Nile, "all inclusive" and "full board" mean different things from one seller to the next. Full board means meals: Mövenpick serves four a day (breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner). Drinks at the bar are extra unless a package says otherwise. Entry fees and guiding are the big variable:

Who sells it Entry fees and guide Drinks
Mayfair Cruises (published rates) Included, plus airport transfers Extra
Oberoi, A&K Sanctuary Included Extra on A&K
Most Egyptian agency packages Usually included (check) Extra
Sonesta, JAZ, Steigenberger booked direct Not included; sightseeing charged separately Extra
TUI River Cruises Only Edfu and Kom Ombo included All-inclusive package
Viking, Uniworld, AmaWaterways Part of a whole-holiday package (Uniworld also includes all tips) Beer and wine with lunch and dinner
GetYourGuide listings Not stated on most; check "includes" Usually extra

If you book a ship direct, like a hotel room, expect sightseeing to be a separate bill. Sonesta says so plainly on its own pages ("Sightseeing activities are not included in the rates"), and JAZ and Steigenberger charge it at check-in. Our reviews of Mayfair and A&K Sanctuary set out exactly what each fare covers.

The costs on top: entry fees, tips, drinks and gala nights

Entry fees

If your cruise does not include entry fees, these are the eight sites a standard Luxor–Aswan cruise visits, at the official prices for foreign adults:

The sites on a standard Luxor–Aswan cruise
SiteTicketNotes
Karnak Temple (incl. Open-Air Museum)EGP 600Student EGP 300 · opens 06:00, last entry 16:00 · the Mut precinct is a separate ticket
Luxor TempleEGP 500Student EGP 250 · opens 06:00, last entry 19:00 — visit after dark
Valley of the Kings (general ticket)EGP 750Student EGP 375 · opens 06:00, last entry 17:00 summer / 16:00 winter
Hatshepsut Temple (Deir el-Bahari)EGP 440Student EGP 220 · last entry 17:00 summer / 16:00 winter
Edfu: Temple of HorusEGP 550Student EGP 275 · opens 07:00 (06:00 Sun and Wed), last entry 16:00
Kom Ombo Temple (incl. Crocodile Museum)EGP 450Student EGP 225 · last entry 20:00 — ships visit at dusk
Philae: Temple of IsisEGP 550Student EGP 275 · boat to the island not included · last entry 15:00
Unfinished ObeliskEGP 220Student EGP 110 · last entry 15:00

Official ticket prices checked on 19 October 2026. Many cruise packages include these, many don't: read the listing. Ministry of Tourism and Antiquities ticket shop (egymonuments.com) ↗

That adds up to EGP 4,060 per adult (students half price). It doesn't include the optional extras: Tutankhamun's tomb is EGP 700 on top of the Valley ticket, Seti I's tomb EGP 2,000, Abu Simbel EGP 822. Children under 6 get in free at ministry sites. You can check every price on the ministry's ticket shop at https://egymonuments.com/locations. Carry a card and some cash for ticket offices.

Tips

There is no official rule. Agencies suggest budgeting roughly US$5–10 per person per night for the crew, handed over in one envelope at reception on the last evening, plus US$10–15 per person per day for your guide. Mayfair's own guidance is $10 per person per day for the crew and $5–7 for the guide. Classic Collection Holidays suggests £10 per person per night. The ship usually announces its suggested figure at the welcome briefing, so you don't have to guess. Uniworld includes all tips in the fare.

Drinks, extras and festive supplements

Drinks are the cost people forget. On most ships they are billed separately and settled by card or cash at the end of the cruise. Some ships go further: Le Fayan does not allow outside drinks, even water.

Over Christmas and New Year, expect a compulsory New Year's Eve gala supplement on many ships. Agencies quote roughly US$50–180 per person; the Christmas Eve dinner is often optional. Ship rates rise too: Mayfair's festive departures from 20 to 31 December cost $400 per person per night instead of $330, and A&K publishes separate festive rates.

Singles and children

There is no standard single supplement. Some real examples: Nile Shams charges $584 for a single on a summer 3-night against $406 per person sharing. Mayfair's single rate is $330–430 a night against $230–330 sharing. AmaWaterways adds 50% for cabins and 100% for suites. MS Tulip has two single cabins with no supplement. For children, Sonesta takes under-6s free and charges half price for ages 6–11 sharing with parents. Other lines set minimum ages (A&K from 10). The family cruises guide lists them.

Abu Simbel and the balloon: bundle or buy separately?

Many cruise listings bundle Abu Simbel and a Luxor balloon flight. On GetYourGuide the bundle adds $130: the plain 3-night is from $450, the same route with both extras from $580. Bought separately, an Abu Simbel day trip from Aswan starts at $40 and a Luxor balloon flight at $88, which is about the same money.

On your ownWith a tour
Abu SimbelDay trip from Aswan from $40, plus the EGP 822 ticket if not included; pre-dawn start, 3.5–4 hours each way by roadBundled into the cruise; the operator times it around the ship
BalloonFrom $88 on the platforms; Sindbad sells direct from €100; pick-up 04:30–05:30Included on a set morning in Luxor; if wind cancels it, ask what you get back
FlexibilityChoose the operator, the date and whether to go at allFixed in the package; ask before booking what happens if you skip it
PriceAbout the same as the bundle$130 extra on GetYourGuide's best-selling listing

So the bundle is a convenience, not a saving. Buy separately if you are unsure about a 03:30 alarm or a balloon. Bundle if you want one booking and no planning. Similar packages are sold on Headout, and today GetYourGuide is cheaper for the 3-night version:

Price check 4 days Aswan → Luxor with Abu Simbel and a balloon on more than one platform Difference: $120
PlatformListingRatingPriceWhere
GetYourGuide From Aswan: 4-Day Nile Cruise to Luxor with Abu Simbel and Balloon Flight · 3 nights 4.5 (555) $580 Lowest See on GetYourGuide
Headout From Aswan: 4-Day Nile Cruise with Luxor Hot-Air Balloon Ride & Abu Simbel Visit · 3 nights 2.0 (1) $600 See on Headout
Headout 4-Day Nile Cruise from Aswan to Luxor with Abu Simbel and Luxor Hot Air Balloon · 3 nights — $700 See on Headout

Lowest price per person in US dollars, checked on 19 October 2026. Ship, cabin, departure day and what is included differ between listings: open each one before you pay.

For the 4-night Luxor → Aswan version with Abu Simbel, Headout is cheaper today but its listing has no reviews yet. Ship, cabin, inclusions and dates may differ between the two:

Price check 5 days from Luxor with Abu Simbel on more than one platform Difference: $250
PlatformListingRatingPriceWhere
Headout From Luxor: 5-Day Nile Cruise with Hot-Air Balloon Ride & Abu Simbel Visit · 4 nights — $590 Lowest See on Headout
GetYourGuide Luxor: 5 Days Nile Cruise with Guided Tours & Abu Simbel · 4 nights 4.4 (69) $840 See on GetYourGuide

Lowest price per person in US dollars, checked on 19 October 2026. Ship, cabin, departure day and what is included differ between listings: open each one before you pay.

Nile cruise packages and cruise & stay holidays from the UK

A UK package costs more per night than a platform cruise, but it includes flights, transfers and someone to call when a flight is cancelled. These are the prices seen for packages with flights from the UK:

  • TUI River Cruises: its own ships, TUI Al Horeya and TUI Bahareya, sail 7-night all-inclusive round trips from Luxor in winter, with flights from Gatwick and Manchester. Launch prices were from £1,785 (Al Horeya) and £1,499 (Bahareya) per person. Cruise & stay adds 7 nights in a Luxor hotel, or a Hurghada beach hotel (8 nights before or 6 after). Only Edfu and Kom Ombo are included as excursions. Check https://www.tui.co.uk/river-cruises/nile-cruises for this winter's prices.
  • Classic Collection Holidays: 7-night cruises with flights on MS Classic Semiramis II, Royal Princess and the Classic Blue Shadow ships, from £1,895 per person on Blue Shadow. The Semiramis II and Royal Princess packages include entry fees for 11 excursions with an Egyptologist. Extras are listed upfront: Abu Simbel £120 by road or £280 by air, the balloon £110.
  • Saga: an 11-day solo holiday on the MS Livingstone (3 hotel nights and 7 on board) from £4,495, with flights, visa and drinks from 11:00 to 22:00 included.
  • Riviera Travel: the 14-night Cairo → Aswan river cruise on Mövenpick's Darakum, from £7,589 with flights. It is the way to sail all the way from Cairo to Aswan; see Nile cruises from Cairo.

The international river lines sit at the top: Avalon's 10-day Taste of Egypt on MS Farah from $4,949, Viking from $6,999, A&K's small-group Egypt and the Nile from £13,760. Their prices include internal flights, Cairo hotels and guiding, so compare them with a whole self-built trip, not with a cruise alone. For a DIY package, a platform cruise plus flights to Luxor (easyJet from Gatwick, TUI from Gatwick and Manchester, both seasonal) is the do-it-yourself alternative.

Nile cruise deals: when prices drop and when they don't

Summer is the cheapest season, and the hottest. A&K's published rate for a 4-night cruise on Sun Boat IV is $3,235 per person in October–November and January–March; its June–August 2026 rate was $1,654, about half. Agency fares show the same pattern: Semiramis III is $455 for 4 nights in summer against $645 in winter. The catch is the heat (Luxor and Aswan average 39–42 °C by day) and that several ships simply stop: Mayfair Cruises, Nour El Nil and Mövenpick's Royal Lily, Royal Lotus and Sun Ray do not sail in June–August, and the Oberoi ships skip June. Mövenpick's Hamees, the JAZ and Steigenberger ships, Sonesta and A&K keep sailing. See when to go.

Christmas and New Year are the dearest weeks, with gala supplements on top. December–January is the peak of the season, so book those dates early.

One summer date is not cheap at all. For the total solar eclipse on 2 August 2027, Mayfair charges $950 per person per night and Viking's 12-day eclipse holiday starts at $10,999.

Last-minute Nile cruises are possible because platform listings show live availability and the operator fits you onto whichever ship has space. Most GetYourGuide bookings can be cancelled free up to 24 hours ahead and offer "reserve now, pay later", but multi-day cruises may have their own terms, so check the listing. The risk of booking late is in the ship, not the price: in peak weeks you get whatever "similar" ship is left. More on how the three platforms differ is in our platforms guide.

Working out the real price of a cruise

Comparing two Nile cruise offers properly

  1. Divide the price by the number of nights, not days. A "4-Day" listing is 3 nights; a "5-Day" is 4.
  2. Check whether entry fees are included. If not, add EGP 4,060 per adult for the eight core sites, and more for Tutankhamun or Seti I.
  3. Add tips: roughly US$5–10 per person per night for the crew and US$10–15 per day for the guide.
  4. Add the extras you actually want: Abu Simbel, the balloon, drinks, the New Year gala if you sail on 31 December.
  5. Ask for the ship's name, the cabin deck and the list of included sites before you pay. On a platform listing, ask the operator straight after booking.

A worked example for two adults on the cheapest listing, three nights from Aswan: $900 for the cruise. If entry fees are excluded, add EGP 8,120. Tips come to roughly $30–60 for the crew and $60–120 for the guide over three or four guiding days. Add drinks and any extras. Fees and tips alone can add a third or more to the cheapest fares, before drinks and extras. That is why an agency cruise that includes the fees, such as Royal Viking at $646 for 3 winter nights, or Mayfair's $1,320 per person for 4 winter nights with fees, sightseeing and airport transfers, can be closer in real cost than the headline suggests.

Don't forget the trip around the cruise: the visa (US$30 on arrival, cash only, or as an e-visa on https://www.visa2egypt.gov.eg, rising to US$33 from 1 January 2027), flights to Luxor or Aswan, and a night or two in Cairo.

Which price level is worth paying for?

Budget ($400–700 for 3–4 nights). Fine for a first Nile cruise if you accept a big ship, a cabin that may face the ship moored alongside, and an operator-assigned boat. Pay for a listing with hundreds of reviews and a clear inclusions list. Our budget cruise guide names the cheapest ships worth booking.

Upper 5-star (about $200–525 a night). Worth it if you want to choose the ship, the cabin deck and the departure day, and to know the entry fees are paid. Mayfair's published rate sheet is the most transparent of this group.

Luxury (about $1,300 and up for 3–4 nights). Worth it for small boats, private moorings, guiding for a handful of people and extra tombs built in (the Oberoi Philae's 4-night includes Tutankhamun and Ramses VI). A&K's summer rates, about half its autumn price, are the cheapest way into this class.

Dahabiya. The price buys a different trip: sailing by day, a dozen or two guests, stops the big ships can't make, no pool. If that appeals, the euro price per night is easy to justify.

See everything on GetYourGuide →See everything on Headout →See everything on Tiqets →Prices checked on 19 October 2026

Nile cruise prices: questions

How much does a Nile cruise cost per person?

From $450 per person for 3 nights Aswan → Luxor on a ship sold as five-star (platform listings), and from $840 for 4 nights Luxor → Aswan with Abu Simbel. Ships that publish their own rates charge $230–330 per person per night with entry fees included; luxury boats charge from $3,235 for 4 nights in season.

Is a Nile cruise all inclusive?

Meals are included on every cruise (full board). Drinks usually are not, and entry fees depend on the seller: included with Mayfair, Oberoi, A&K and most Egyptian agency packages, excluded when you book Sonesta, JAZ or Steigenberger direct, and not stated on most platform listings. TUI's all-inclusive package includes drinks but only two excursions.

What is not included in the price of a Nile cruise?

Usually tips (about US$5–10 per person per night for the crew plus US$10–15 per day for the guide), drinks, optional tours such as Abu Simbel and the balloon, extra tombs, and the New Year's Eve gala. On many cheaper listings, the entry fees too: EGP 4,060 per adult for the eight core sites.

When are Nile cruises cheapest?

June to August, when published rates can be about half the winter price. Several ships don't sail then, and Luxor and Aswan average 39–42 °C by day. Christmas and New Year are the dearest weeks.

How much is a Nile cruise and stay holiday from the UK?

TUI's 7-night all-inclusive cruise with flights started from £1,499–1,785 per person; cruise & stay adds a week in Luxor or Hurghada. Classic Collection's 7-night packages on Blue Shadow start from £1,895 with flights and entry fees.

Are last-minute Nile cruise deals worth it?

Late booking works on the platforms because the operator fits you onto whichever ship has space, which is also the risk: in busy weeks you get the ship that is left. Summer is the easiest time to book late; for Christmas, New Year and the Abu Simbel sun festival on 22 February, book early.